If All Else Fails, at Least You Have This to Fall Back On

Hello.

Bonjour.

Ciao.

Aloha.

Hola.

Yes, I’m still alive.

Why did I go temporarily AWOL from my beloved blog?

Well the reason is two-part.

First of all, I had some personal issues arise that really distracted me from my writing. It just got overwhelming with everything I had going on.

It won’t happen again.

Second of all, and I will keep this very brief (because I really don’t like negativity in my oasis of interior design love-child), I received a few not-so-nice emails from a few impatient readers. I’m not sure why I received this attitude from complete strangers, but it did hurt my enthusiasm and help lead to my hiatus.

So, here’s the thing: I really enjoy helping people with their design problems. In the past, I was very good about replying within 24 hours. Then I went through a bit of a personal crisis, and it started taking me a little longer to get back to people. I do apologize for this.

From now on, I promise to respond to every email within a week. I will likely respond much faster, but I am changing my policy to hopefully stop anyone from feeling the need to send me rude messages. And because the sheer volume of emails I’ve been receiving is about quadruple what I started out with (which is awesome! Keep ’em coming!).

But please remember that I am offering this service for free, (despite quite a few of you telling me I should really be charging for my services (thanks by the way, always very flattering to hear)). I want to keep my service free, but that will require you guys to be a little patient with me!

I would also like to re-emphasize that the only part of offering my help that makes it fun for me, is seeing the “after” shot…so please, please, PLEASE try to remember to send me some tile-candy after your job is finished!

But I do plan to be back for good this time.

Now, enough of the awkward seriousness and on to something fun! Like…I don’t know…tile?

Mmmmh nothing says quite like jumping back into the tile blogging pool like making a bold assertion, so here goes:

If EVER you are in doubt about how to design a room, no matter what the room, just go black and white.

Seriously. It never fails.

Dining Room proof:

design by Amoroso Design

Entryway proof:

design by the infamous Tobi Fairley

Bathroom proof:

design also by the infamous Tobi Fairley

So how does this translate to tile?

Well, the tile equivalent to the always-gorgeous black and white mantra is the timeless black & white tiled floor. This classic pattern goes way back all the way to the days of Louis XIV at Versailles. How do I know? Because while I was visiting last summer with all the other tourists who were ooh’ing and ahh’ing over the general grandeur of the palace, I was inspecting the tile.

I know I’m a freak. It’s why I have this blog.

Versailles, France (from the TileTramp personal collection)

Anyway, this pattern is a safety net for design. I have literally never seen it done where it doesn’t add a little something extra to a space. Unless it’s done with cheap material, but you all already know how I feel about going too cheap on tile. And if you don’t, you can read about it here and here.

Here it is in a quaint cozy little kitchen.

design by Kathia Emery

And in an elegant entryway.

design by Dillard Design Group

And in a modern-traditional home.

photographed by Peter Sellar

And in a dining room.

design by Jessica Lagrange

And the black and white fun doesn’t stop there! Not a fan of the checkerboard?

That’s OK, not everyone is.

(…freak).

Kidding!

Why not go for one of these fun black&white designs?

The ever-classic basketweave:

design by Echelon Custom Homes

Play with some penny-rounds:

installation by Stonebreaker Builders

Random black and white mosaic pattern on the floor:

design by Artistic Designs for Living

Octagon with a black dot:

design by Birdhouse Interior Design Consulting

Really, the choices are endless.

But every single one of these pictures has two things in common:

One, they’re beautiful and look extremely well-designed despite the fact that these designs are all very simple and could be done by any one of you (yes, even you).

Two, with accents, color can be added to any one of these rooms. Which means if you are very color indecisive (as I certainly can be), these rooms can adapt to any color you may decide you want (and then decide you hate) in the future.

Which is why I stand by my original bold assertion that black and white is always a fail safe.

Don’t forget, if you’d like my assistance with your design dilemnas or some tile advice, feel free to email me at tiletramp@gmail.com!

PS: After I published this post, WordPress kindly suggested I tag “personal issues,” “alcoholism,” and “love child” to this post. I find this slightly offensive, but mostly hilarious. So I did. But that isn’t actually what my personal issues were about. Just in case there was any confusion about why this post is tagged “love child.”

Comments
7 Responses to “If All Else Fails, at Least You Have This to Fall Back On”
  1. Phil Smith says:

    Glad to see you’re still blogging. Saw ur email and thought, “wow, been awhile”. Love the pics and insight as usual.

  2. Valerie says:

    I like your blog very much and found it while you were on hiatus. Glad you’re back! Don’t listen to those ungrateful curs!

  3. Debbie says:

    I am so glad you are back. I have been checking your page regularly and I had given up hope. Why is it a few people ruin it for the rest of the group?? Need your help so will be sending you an email.

    • Tile Tramp says:

      Thanks Debbie, I already saw and responded to your email with a rendering. And don’t worry, I won’t let a few nasty emails ruin it for everyone else in the future, I promise!

  4. Gigi says:

    And the black and white fun doesn’t stop there! Not a fan of the checkerboard?
    That’s OK, not everyone is.
    (…freak).

    Ha ha! love it.

Leave a Reply

