Why I Don’t Like Chinese Tile

Well folks, I think I’ve officially hit the tile big-leagues.

If there is such a thing, I think you would know you’re in it when Chinese tile manufacturers start spamming you with product brochures about their glass and stone tiles.

It’s both flattering and annoying simultaneously.

It’s flattering that I’m showing up on their radar. It’s annoying because not only do I not own a store to carry their lines, but I’ve made it clear in previous posts that I don’t recommend Chinese material -ever-. Read my blog before you spam me!!

Let me just take a second to protect myself from a flurry of angry emails: I have no problem whatsoever with Chinese people, culture, food (LOVE their food) etc. I do not intend this to be racist, stereotypical, or whatever other accusation someone may come up with against me. China is a force in the worldwide market and I have a lot of respect for them.

That being said, their tile is just not up to par.

Fact: They have terrible labor standards. Cheap labor is cheap labor and this will inevitably show in the products you receive.

Fact: They use the cheapest material available. For stone, this often means the poorest section of the stone which may not remotely resemble the stone you were aiming for (i.e. marble with little or no veining). For glass, this often means glass with imperfections like bubbles or cracks.

Fact: They mix dye lots. Once again, it’s much more expensive to pay attention to which stone came from which block and to separate them accordingly, therefore when you’re buying from a company that cuts corners, you have no guarantee that you’re buying from the same block of stone. For an example of what mixed dye lots looks like, click here.

It’s unfortunate, but it’s true. I’ve sold Chinese products in the past, and sometimes it works out just fine. But other times, it turns into a giant (expensive) mess that, when all is said and done, ends up costing my client the same amount of money as if he/she had just gone with a higher quality product in the first place.

I’m the first to admit that it’s extremely tempting to try to save a few bucks by going with a Chinese product. But at the end of the day, it’s an expensive gamble to make. Your home is your biggest investment…why would you want to risk it?

So, sorry Chinese marketing men, I am not interested in viewing your products. It’s nothing personal, and if you are willing to work on your labor laws and the sourcing of your material, I am willing to reconsider.

And if you aren’t going to read my blog before you spam me, at least send me some fake compliments or flattery to try to butter me up and make up for it.

Deal?

 

Comments
3 Responses to “Why I Don’t Like Chinese Tile”
  1. M. says:

    Good point about the tile coming from different stone in some cases, thats something I would not have considered.

    • Tile Tramp says:

      Thanks! Most people don’t realize that this is the case, but it really ruins the look of the stone when you mix them up, especially if you’re purchasing a mosaic tile which is installed on a 12×12 mesh. No one wants to see different colored squares in their mosaic!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] seems that my last article scolding the Chinese salesmen for not actually reading my blog, and then not showering me with fake compliments to make up for […]



Leave a Reply

