A Traditional Kitchen Idea

I came up with a beautiful concept for a client today that I thought I would share with all of you.

First of all, if any of you have come across Giallo Portofino granite, you already know that it’s beautiful…but a pain in the you-know-what to coordiante with.

Giallo Portofino Granite

It has gray, taupe, white, burgundy, and little flecks of black in it. Meaning, you can really only use it with a monotone ceramic backsplash. Which is fine, but there are very few colors that actually coordinate well with it (graupe being one of them).

As I’ve said before, you really want one focal point, and everything else to complement that piece. When you design with this granite, it is always the focal point. Generally, people gravitate towards neutral backsplashes to really show off the counter.

However, if you don’t want your backsplash to be too boring, try this idea:

1) White shaker-style cabinets

2) Walker Zanger “Tuileries”

3) Giallo Portofino granite

4) Walnut wood floors

I think the look is goooorgeous! What do you think? Would you use it in your kitchen?

Comments
8 Responses to “A Traditional Kitchen Idea”
  1. Jacqueline says:

    I really really like this!

    • Tile Tramp says:

      Thank you! I’m thinking about doing more concept boards in the future similar to this…do you think that’s a good idea? They’re certainly fun to create 🙂

  2. Becky says:

    I have Typhoon Bordeaux granite, which has a lot going on, too. I really like that dark red WZ tile. Would love to see all of this in an actual kitchen!

    • Tile Tramp says:

      It’s a brand new collection so I haven’t been able to find a lot of “after” shots using the color, but I’ll keep my eye out for you…I know of someone installing it in a couple weeks so I’ll try to secure a photo!

  3. Lisa says:

    Can you help me with the name of the herringbone floor pattern in the picture? It seems like it is 2 different size tiles- I love it and would like to price it out with my tile guy

    • Tile Tramp says:

      Hi Lisa, the photo isn’t actually from one of my clients, but it looks like it is a 6×12 black semi-glossy tile. It’s not two sizes (although it fooled me at first too!), it’s just the way the photograph was taken. You can easily get this look with any black porcelain or stone tile in a rectangular shape, but I wouldn’t go smaller than a 6″ width for flooring. Hope that helps!

  4. I think of Giallo Portofino as a “go with everything” kind of granite, but then again, I live where so many people default to travertine that the backsplash is almost a given (4″ travertine tumbled). I would LOVE to see more people have the guts to go with something like that glorious burgandy tile!

    • Tile Tramp says:

      This is too funny! My parents just moved to Texas and while they were house shopping I noticed that travertine is used in almost every house they were looking at…funny to hear that it’s the norm down there from another source 🙂 It’s hard to sell people on burgundy tile where I live as well, but I did succeed in one case, and it turned out beautifully! I’m trying hard to get a photo of it, but so far it’s been a no-go.

Leave a Reply

