Gray + Taupe = Graupe

That’s right, there’s a new neutral in town and it’s giving both gray and taupe a run for their respective money.

I ran through a number of fun names for this new color, but I thought Graupe (pronounced “grope” if we’re going to get technical) was the catchiest.

Other prospective names: Taray, Graype, Taupay (sounded too much like toupee)

If you haven’t guessed, Graupe is a neutral with both gray and taupe tones mixed together for one beautiful neutral color which works in literally every space. It’s not gray per say, and it’s not really taupe either…it’s Graupe.

And it’s fabulous.

Tile-wise, Walker Zanger has really been leading the pack with this color. A variety of their collections feature a Graupe color for your designing pleasure.

Walker Zanger - Studio Moderne "Marquis" in Mica Gloss (also known as Graupe)

Walker Zanger's new "6th Ave." collection in "Fog" (Graupe)

Walker Zanger - Skyline in "Pearl" (Graupey-Graupe)

Assorted Walker Zanger Tiles…Graupe tiles are Vibe “Odyssey Mosaic” in Suede and Tuileries “Brique” in Fedora
 
See what I mean? Graupe is everywhere! It makes an appearance in nearly all of their ceramic tile collections, and has a few special appearances in their glass collections.
 
I personally don’t see this trend going anywhere either as it makes designing quite open-ended. Rather than having to choose a “cool” palette with gray neutrals, or a “warm” palette with taupe neutrals…you can have your cake and eat it too.
 
For me, the queen of indecision and color-commitment issues, this is the perfect color to design with.
 
What do you think? Would you incorporate Graupe into your next project? Would you have chosen a different name for this color? Will you remember that when the name “Graupe” catches on, I was the one who created it? 🙂
 
And if you’d like advice on how to incorporate Groupe into your home, please feel free to email me at tiletramp@gmail.com for a free consultation!
 
*All Walker Zanger images courtesy of their website and their Facebook page
*Feature image courtesy of DecorPad
Comments
14 Responses to “Gray + Taupe = Graupe”
  1. Katie says:

    Ugh.. seriously. Where were you before I painted almost my entire house??

    • Tile Tramp says:

      Probably slacking at work and drinking a latte.

      Oh you don’t mean literally?

      I don’t know, but the important thing is you found me now and hopefully I can help with any future design dilemnas 🙂

  2. Love Graupe!! Its a fabulous color and will definitely be around for a while.

  3. Tile Tramp says:

    Thanks Felicia! I hope the term will stick 🙂

    And I’m inclined to agree. After this post, I noticed several posts on my favorite design blogs about taupey-gray (doesn’t sound nearly as good as “graupe” in my humble opinion) wallpaper, furniture, paint colors, etc. I think it’s safe to say it’s here for the long haul.

  4. Katie says:

    I thought you should know that I brought this trend up to my new boss today (he’s a Realtor who also flips houses). He loved it! Unfortunately he’ll now be out of town for a month, but I might turn him back on to this color scheme idea for his new flips when he gets back. Thank you!

  5. That top photo is seriously sexy.

    • Tile Tramp says:

      I completely agree…I’m trying real hard to talk the other half into letting me paint our entire condo in that color!

      • Becky says:

        Love Love Love the concept of graupe. It’s the color I have in my head for my bedroom. Can you give me some paint color names?? Thanks so much!

      • Tile Tramp says:

        Hi Becky! I know isn’t it fabulous?? I want to paint my entire condo graupe! I already posted a few options on Facebook, but I’m posting them here too so other readers can see them 🙂

        Sherwin-Williams is really leading the pack on pretty graupe colors in my humble opinion:

        Benjamin Moore’s “Owl Gray”, Sherwin Williams’ “Pussywillow”, “Requisite Gray,” and “Sticks and Stones”

        Make sure that you order samples though and test the colors in your light to make sure you have the right balance between warm and cool tones. Lighting is key and you won’t know how it will really look until it’s on a portion of your wall!

  6. Rebecca says:

    I have just painted my living room ‘Graupe’ without realising – the paint colour was 1990’s Natural, not nearly as catchy! As an aside, your wonderful blog has completely obliterated my tiling plans and I am now stuck in a massive rut of indecision trying to incorporate all of your tile ideas into my one small kitchen! 32 more tile samples arrive tomorrow… I might be back to pick your brain!

    • Tile Tramp says:

      Graupe is definitely more catchy! 🙂 I apologize for bringing you down into my tile rabbit hole, I’d be more than happy to help you sift through your samples if you’d like to email me some photos! 🙂

  7. Denise says:

    Hey, I’ve loved these tones for a couple of years! Restoration Hardware has some FABULOUS shades of “graupe” paints with names like slate, stone, granite, graphite…etc. Go online and check them out, or if you have a Restoration Hardware nearby, stop in and pick up some samples! Started with an accent wall in my family room, moved to my dining room with a complimentary shade, and now laundry room and kitchen are being done! As someone said earlier, they take on different tones of gray/taupe in different light…beautiful paint!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] backsplash. Which is fine, but there are very few colors that actually coordinate well with it (graupe being one of […]



Leave a Reply

