Penny for your thoughts? No? How about your floor?

We all hate pennies.

You know it’s true

I will go relatively far out of my way to avoid receiving pennies back with my change. I will happily dig around in my wallet for several minutes to make exact change so that I don’t have to take on more pennies. I have been known on multiple occasions to just tell the cashier to keep my pennies, rather than have them crowd my more important change and weigh down my wallet.

 Even the government doesn’t like pennies…they cost more to produce than they’re worth. Fact.

 Luckily, you really can turn anything into tile these days. I mentioned Art of Board tile in a previous post (tile made out of old skateboards), and I’ve mentioned Oceanside Glasstile, who recycle old Corona bottles into glass mosaic.

 Why not turn pennies into tile?

Check out this floor made out of North America’s least favorite coin:

Source: Apartment Therapy

 Before you ask, yes, this is legal. As long as you aren’t trying to commit fraud with money, the government apparently has no problem if you turn it into a floor.

 And the best part…the material is extremely cheap.

 Love the idea, but not a huge fan of copper? Well, no one’s too keen on nickels either, so why not give those a shot?

Source: Apartment Therapy

 Want to try it yourself? Here’s how:

 Materials Needed

  • Cardboard
  • Circle Template (try here: http://www.incompetech.com/graphpaper/circle/ )
  • Packing Tape
  • Sharp Knife
  • Fiberglass Screen (like what’s used for window screens)
  • Glue (specifically for gluing mosaic…try Weldbond)
  • Change (for pennies, about $2.56/SF; for nickels, about $9.75/SF; if you’re thinking about dimes or quarters, I would highly recommend switching to nickels instead…no need to waste the more important money)

 Step 1: Make sure you realize how much work is going to be going into this project. Once you get started, trying to get your money back off is going to be hard!

 Step 2: Once you’ve overcome that mental roadblock, pick up some cardboard and a template and get started! Using the packing tape, tape the template to the cardboard for a temporary sturdy backing.

 Step 3: Cut 1 SF squares out of the mesh and adhere said mesh over top of template.

 Step 4: Start gluing on those pennies (or nickels)! Obviously, you want the money glued to the mesh, not the cardboard.

 Step 5: When you’re ready to install, remove the cardboard, template, and tape, and use the knife to trim up any excess mesh.

 Step 6: Install like regular mosaic tile.

 Step 7: Email me a photo of the completed installation! (Had to…you all know I’m a tile nerd)

Source: Apartment Therapy

 If you’d like help with your next tile project, feel free to email me at tiletramp@gmail.com for a free consultation (disclaimer: will NOT help you glue coins to templates…that’s what your friends and family (and anyone who owes you any debts) are for)! 🙂

Comments
8 Responses to “Penny for your thoughts? No? How about your floor?”
  1. Dean says:

    J’aime vraiment votre article. J’ai essaye de trouver de nombreux en ligne et trouver le v?tre pour être la meilleure de toutes.

    Mon francais n’est pas tres bon, je suis de l’Allemagne.

    Mon blog:
    rachat pret immobilier puis Rachat De Credit proprietaire

    • Tile Tramp says:

      Merci beaucoup! C’est tres flatteur. Ma langue maternelle est effectivement anglais, mais je parle un peu francais. Je suis heureux que vous apprecierrez mon blog, et esperons que vous continuerez a le lire! 🙂

  2. gillian says:

    Hello. I’m thinking about doing a nickel backsplash for my kitchen.Will grout work to fill in the empty spaces?

  3. Angela says:

    I’m thinking about doing my bathroom floor. Do i have to grout it or can I use a resin over top?

  4. Sherrie Kamphaus says:

    Help I have looked high and low for the penny trays to make my floor. I like the look where there evenly place, I see in photos the trays but cant find where to buy them.Help anyone????? thanks Sherrie

Leave a Reply

