Add a Little Glamour With Chevron Floor Tile

In the famous words of Carrie Bradshaw…“Hellooo lover.”

*Sigh*

Chevron floor tile was one of my first flooring loves. Still is. I would happily give up my hardwood and plain porcelain in a half of a heartbeat for this gorgeous pattern. It just exudes glamour. And if you haven’t noticed, I am drawn to all things glamorous.

Perhaps it’s because I’ve always kind of thought I should have been brought up in Paris or lived during Hollywood’s Golden Age (helloooo Hollywood Regency decor…post on that to come!).

Walker Zanger "Helsinki" Chevron Pattern

Who needs boring hardwood or plain porcelain tile when you have these to play with??

Design hint: As I’ve previously stated in my post laying out 3 steps to planning your kitchen, the foolproof trick to designing a space is choosing one focal point and building around that. While the patterns with all one stone still leave a lot of design options to work with (i.e. Walker Zanger’s “Helsinki” version), others with a lot of color and movement would generally need to be the centerpiece of the design (i.e. the following design).

PS: I couldn’t, for the life of me, find the source of the tile pictured below. If anyone knows who the manufacturer is, PLEASE let me know in the comments section so I can credit it appropriately!

Bathroom designed by Christine Murphy

Notice how when using the higher-contrast Chevron pattern, the tile really pops when the rest of the features in the room are left quite simple: solid-colored Caesarstone counter, large-scale plain wall tiles, and a mirror that takes up almost an entire wall.

With the Walker Zanger version, design options are left much more open. It’s fun because it can be played up as more traditional with some antique store finds, but with some bright accent colors could be given a very modern vibe.

What do you think? Would you rock the Chevron pattern? If so, where would you use it?

If you would like assistance planning your next tile project, email me at tiletramp@gmail.com for a free consultation!

Comments
5 Responses to “Add a Little Glamour With Chevron Floor Tile”
  1. Robert says:

    In the bath pic above, the one designed by Christine Murphy, there is a dark-light, every other row pattern. How do you feel about the same design, only using light-light-dark, light-light-dark . . . ?

    I love the design, but I have a small bathroom and I want to make sure I’m getting the herringbone effect, only in a way that is appropriate for my bath space (it’s 30 square feet).

    What size of tiles do you think would be best?

    Thanks!

    -Robert

    • Tile Tramp says:

      Hi Robert!

      I got your email with the photo, I’m going to sketch out a couple of ideas for you and email them back this afternoon. Off the top of my head, I don’t see anything inherently wrong with it, but I’m not sure it’ll give you the look you’re going for. Either way, it’s easier to see when it’s drawn out. But please forgive me in advance for my poor herringbone-sketching abilities. It’s my sketching Achilles heel for whatever reason.

  2. Robert says:

    Super, thanks! Note, the bathroom is approx 5′ x ‘6 rectangle with the vanity and toilet on the same wall. The doorway is on the opposite wall of the vanity, directly in front of it.

    There is a bath tub at the opposite end of the bathroom from the vanity and door – and the bath is along the short wall (perpendicular to the walls with the doorway and the vanity and toilet.

    One more question – I’m going to have 3″x 6″ subway tiles on the walls. Should I have white ceramic or the white carrara marble, like that used in the herringbone on the floor?

    Thanks again!

    -Robert

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Add a Little Glamour With Chevron Floor Tile « TileTramp Walker Zanger "Helsinki" Chevron Pattern Who needs boring hardwood or plain porcelain tile when you have these to play with? Design hint: As I've previously stated in my post laying out 3 steps to planning your kitchen […]

  2. […] so I have already discussed the beauty of Chevron tile. I already told you all about the glamour it brings to a room and its […]



Leave a Reply

