Andy Warhol Inspires…Tile?

In short: yes.

Really, I suppose it was only a matter of time. He’s inspired generations to create all sorts of products ranging from clothing to top-shelf champagne.

Seriously, champagne.

Would you like some Warhol with your Dom Perignon?

He’s the master of using color to create loud statement pieces that command attention (whether you like it or not). When I view his work, I always find myself wondering if he was really a brilliant artist, or just a marketing genius.

I recently posted about wood-grained porcelain tile. I’m now going to take you to the extreme end of that spectrum.

Meet Uonuon.

I must say, these new Warhol-inspired tiles by 14 Ora Italiana definitely follow in Warhol’s path. They are loud, boisterous, and certainly make you wonder if they are a groundbreaking new artistic concept, or just another marketing ploy.

Available in fourteen different colors (you can make up your own blend here), including a pastel pink and aquamarine reminiscent of Marilyn Monroe’s famous features in his renowned “Four Marilyns,” these tiles certainly aren’t shy.

"Four Marilyns"

Colors look familiar?

The more I look at these tiles, the more they grow on me. I can see potential for them. When I saw the above photo, I fell in love with the idea of the white and black comically wood-grained tiles in a studio, in my future dream office, or in multiple colors on a staircase (imagine my excitement when I found the following photo…so chic!).

They have a sort of glamour to them that you don’t realize at first. I suppose they have the same kind of effect on me as his artwork…and you know what? I actually do find them to have a sort of artistic brilliance.

What do you think? Would you ever consider adding some of this Warhol-esque style to your home?

If you would like assistance planning your next tile project, email me at tiletramp@gmail.com for a free consultation!

Leave a Reply

